Arthur Verocai ''S-T'' Vinyl LP

Arthur Verocai ''S-T'' Vinyl LP

Vinyl - $26.99

Folk-jazz composer/arranger Arthur Verocai was born in Rio de Janeiro. He has created challenging arrangements and compositions for Brazilian artists Jorge Ben, Ivan Lins, Leny Andrade and Gal Costa. In 1972 Verocai recorded a self-titled solo LP. It is a stunningly innovative effort. It puts Verocai into a rarified field with the heavy string oriented music of Charles Stepney, David Axelrod and Frank Zappa. Released in a period marked by the Brazilian military government, the album fared poorly. Following its re-issue in 2003, the album has become a highly influential oft sampled classic (see Ludacris, MF Doom and Little Brother). The performance of this seminal 1972 record in its entirety brought the capacity Luckmann crowd to a stand still. According to Verocai, "he had never played the record, alive or dead!" The music has been mixed by Verocai himself in Rio. History turned on its head and musical justice served. Featuring Alosio Aguiar, Justo Almario, Jose Bertrami, Ivan "Mamao" Conti, Carlos Daf, Clarisse Grova and Airto Moreira.

Track Listing: 

A1. Caboclo 
A2. Pelas Sombras
A3. Sylvia Listen
A4. Presente Grego
A5. Dedicada A Ela
B1. Seriado 
B2. Naboca Do Sol 
B3. Velho Parente 
B4. O Mapa 
B5. Karini (Domingo No Grajau')

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items