Adrian Younge "Adrian Younge Presents Something About April (Instrumental Version" Vinyl LP

Adrian Younge "Adrian Younge Presents Something About April (Instrumental Version" Vinyl LP

Vinyl LP - $19.99

In the four years since Adrian Younge’s Something About April album first appeared, the Los Angeles-based producer and multi-instrumentalist has become his own musical cottage industry.

Not only has he collaborated with musical legends ranging from The Delfonics to Ghostface Killah, Ali Shaheed Muhammad and The Souls of Mischief; his work has also been sampled by such rap giants as 50 Cent, Jay-Z and Common. In an equally impressive twist, DJ Premier produced an entire album with Younge’s work as his only source material (including multiple samples from April, of course): 2014’s PRhyme, with MC Royce Da 5’9”.

Now Younge’s instrumentals from Something About April are released for the first time ever and with the inclusion of the never before issued cut “Niacin.” Something About April is an album that flaunts all of the trademarks that have made Younge an in-demand name as a composer and sample source-point. His work oozes raw, analog soul and the primal sonic edge of psychedelic rock, sitting nicely alongside Ennio Morricone’s best soundtrack work; Pink Floyd’s early catalog and Parliament’s Osmium the material is perfect for an instrumental issue such as this.

Younge’s songwriting is what truly makes this album unique and keeps ears engaged. While many of his tunes are initially vamp-driven, there are changes and aural twists that lurk around every corner.


1) Turn Down The Sound
2) It’s Me
3) Anna May
4) Two Hearts Combine
5) Thunderstrike
6) Reverie
7) First Step On The Moon
8) Dusts Of Gold


1) Midnight Blue
2) Lovely Lady (feat. Dennis Coffey)
3) Sound Of A Man
4) Sirens
5) Mourning Melodies In Rhapsody
6) Something About April
7) Niacin (BONUS TRACK)

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items