Poor Righteous Teachers "Holy Intellect" CD

Poor Righteous Teachers "Holy Intellect" CD

CD - $13.99
  • Contains the chart hit "Rock Dis Funky Joint" which reached #4 on Hot Rap Singles Chart.
  • Includes 5 Bonus Tracks & Linear Notes by Alex Henderson!

Holy Intellect is the 1990 debut album by Poor Righteous Teachers which is famous for its Pro-Five-Percenter messages. The album includes the hip-hop classic "Rock Dis Funky Joint", which sampled "Slippin' Into Darkness" by War, a 1970’s funk band.

Produced mostly by Tony "Tony D" Depula, the production is unique as Holy Intellect contains many examples of late-80’s/early-90’s rap positing brainy lyrics over energizing productions suited for a party. Take "Butt Naked Booty Bless," which, instrumentally, could be used for any old crowd-goading chatter.

The lyrics are cleverly written, with really knowledgeable and uplifting rhymes which is why a lot of old school hip-hop fans know this album. This is a massive credit to the group’s main emcee “Wise Intelligent” who brings really nice flow to Holy Intellect, which was selected as one of The Source's 100 Best Rap Albums Ever.

Holy Intellect instantly became an instant sensation on the Hip Hop underground scene, but has been a landmark for the Hip Hop genre for decades.

Track List: 

1) Can I Start This?

2) Rock Dis Funky Joint

3) Strictly Ghetto

4) Holy Intellect

5) Shakiyla

6) Time To Say Peace

7) Style Dropped/Lessons Taught

8) Speaking Upon A Blackman

9) So Many Teachers

10) Word From The Wise

11) Butt Naked Booty Bless

12) Poor Righteous Teachers

Bonus Tracks

13) Holy Intellect (Try & Blend It Remix)

14) Holy Intellect (Try & Blend It Instrumental)

15) Rock Dis Funky Joint (On Fire Remix)

16) Rock Dis Funky Joint (On Fire Instrumental) 

17) Rock Dis Funky Joint (Midnight Croon) 

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items