Lee Fields "Let's Talk it Over"

Lee Fields "Let's Talk it Over"

Deluxe CD - $11.89
Over the past four years, Lee Fields has released two critically acclaimed full lengths on the Truth & Soul label, which have secured him a younger and extremely dedicated audience. He has been touring the world, gaining new fans that now know Mr. Fields for the tough-as-nails, lushly orchestrated sweet soul music that is featured on the My World and Faithful Man records. However, Mr. Fields' musical career goes far beyond those two records.ξ
A quick rundown: In 1967, with twenty dollars in his pocket, Lee left his hometown of Wilson, North Carolina to pursue a musical career in New York City. He eventually made his home in Brooklyn, where he cut his teeth performing in some of the hottest clubs in the borough: Tempo Soul City, the Fulton Terrace, the Boston Road Ballroom and 521, where the owner, Gene Goldstein, allegedly ran numbers when we wasn't booking Wilson Pickett and Joe Tex. In 1969, Lee met Ray Patterson, a promoter and club owner, who released his very rst single, "Bewildered" b/w "Tell Her I Love Her", on the Bedford label.ξ
In the early 70's, after a brief stint as an auxiliary member of Kool & the Gang, Lee released a series of hard-funk singles on various long-gone labels. But instead of chasing the ever-elusive major label deal, Lee released these singles by himself and oversaw all aspects of production and promotion.ξ
Lee released his very first full-length LP in 1979 entitled, "Let's Talk It Over". It featured his most successful song of the era, "She's a Lovemaker", which was at one time licensed and promoted by London Records. Mint copies of "Let's Talk it Over", which was self released by Mr. Fields and mostly sold at shows and out the back of his car, can fetch four digit numbers on eBay. Even the bootleg version from the early nineties sells for up to four hundred dollar. Truth & Soul is proud to present the deluxe re-issue of Lee Fields' "holy grail" album, "Let's Talk it Over". The CD and double LP also features songs from his singles catalogue including "Funky Screw", "We Fought For Survival", "Bewildered", "Meet Me Tonight", "The Bull Is Coming", "Everybody's Gonna Give Their Thing Away", and many more. The deluxe re-issue is also repackaged with a new cover and never-before-seen photos of Lee Fields.
Track Listing;

  1. Wanna Dance
  2. Let's Talk It Over
  3. Mighty Mighty Love
  4. Flim Flam
  5. She's A Lovemaker
  6. You're My Weakness
  7. Everybody Gonna Give Their Thing Away (Part 1)
  8. Everybody Gonna Give Their Thing Away (Part 2)
  9. Fought For Survivalξ
  10. Funky Screwξ
  11. Take Me Backξ
  12. Cutting Out (On Me)ξ
  13. Bewilderedξ
  14. The Bull Is Comingξ
  15. You Been Cutting Out (On Me)ξ

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items