Eric B & Rakim "Let The Rhythm Hit 'Em" 2X Vinyl LP

Eric B & Rakim "Let The Rhythm Hit 'Em" 2X Vinyl LP

2X Vinyl LP - $24.99

This is the third studio album by Eric B. & Rakim and finds the pair adopting a more aggressive tone than their past works, notably on the title track “Let The Rhythm Hit ‘Em.” While Rakim, at this point, was celebrated for his influential work on past projects, this album saw Eric B.’s production advance from his previous super-chopped pastiche sampling style. For example, on “Mahogany,” we hear the use of Al Green’s “I’m Glad You’re Mine” where Eric B. lets the drums ride out a bit before Rakim’s vocals emerge.

It’s important to note how production history is intertwined with this release; DJ Mark the 45 King produced the remix of the title track while the majority of the album was slated to be produced by Paul C, the little-known producer whose untimely murder came during the making of the album. After his death, a young Large Professor—who was Paul’s protégé— was tapped to assist with the unfinished production. As a result, there’s a dedication on the back of the original release as a final farewell to Paul.

The project is perhaps the duo’s most cohesive effort and received a coveted 5-mic rating from The Source. Let the Rhythm Hit 'Em is Eric B. & Rakim’s third studio album, released on May 22, 1990 and is now available for the first time as a deluxe 2LP.

Side A:

1) Let The Rhythm Hit 'Em
2) No Omega

Side B:

1) In The Ghetto
2) Step Back

Side C:

1) Eric B Made My Day
2) Run For Cover
3) Untouchables

Side D:

1) Mahogany
2) Keep 'Em Eager To Listen
3) Set 'Em Straight


Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items