King Curtis "Plays The Great Memphis Hits" Vinyl LP

King Curtis "Plays The Great Memphis Hits" Vinyl LP

Vinyl LP - $24.99

If Curtis Ousley (Best known by his stage name "King Curtis") had remained a session musician for the entirety of his career he still would maintain an admirable and potent resume. Before launching his own project he had provided session saxophone work for Buddy Holly, Waylon Jennings, and Wynton Kelly, among many many other legends of music. And yet King Curtis enjoyed a wealth of success with his own solo career in the decades he was active, penning many Billboard-charting hits, and would perform alongside Aretha Franklin, Duane Allman, and John Lennon. Ultimately however, his career would be cut short in 1971, when he was killed in an argument with a drug dealer.

Though King Curtis' output ended that day, his incredibly accomplished discography of singles and albums still remained. Chief among them was his 1967 album Plays Great Memphis Hits, which brought the world Curtis' own spin on the great songs of yester-year which inspired him. Features his take on classics by Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett, Booker T. & The MGs, Isaac Hayes, and his Billboard Pop chart-landing rendition of Rufus Thomas' "Jump Back.”

Side 1:

1) Knock On Wood

2) Good To Me

3) Hold On I'm Comin'

4) When Something Is Wrong With My Baby

5) Green Onions

6) You Don't Miss Your Water

Side 2:

1) Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)

2) In The Midnight Hour

3) The Dog

4) I've Been Loving You Too Long

5) Last Night

6) Jump Back

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items