Dessa "Chime"

Dessa "Chime"

Vinyl LP - $21.99
CD - $12.99
Sold Out
  • The Latest Release From Singer, Rapper and Essayist, Dessa
  • Vinyl Includes Download Card, Poster With Lyrics & an Exclusive Poem by Dessa
  • CD Includes Poster With Lyrics & an Exclusive Poem by Dessa

"...Writing the lyrics for Chime involved heading into territory I don’t usually go as a songwriter: there’s some humor, a rap song about my experiences traveling alone as a woman, one about my grandmother’s death, and one unapologetic pop song—because I love pop too, dammit. The album includes beats by some of my favorite Doomtree producers (Lazerbeak, Paper Tiger, Cecil Otter), but also involved a new collaborator, Andy Thompson. He added new sounds and melodies to the record and pushed me to use my voice differently for stronger, more expressive vocal takes. Two of the beats on the album were submitted by people I’ve never met, who responded to my call for mid-tempo production on Facebook, Anagram Norton and Chance Lewis. Chime is also the first album on which I produced a couple of tracks myself—a fact of which I am senselessly, insufferably proud. (In my eagerness to be included in producer shoptalk, Beak, mostly affectionately, referred to me as New Beatmaker during our late-night sessions in Andy’s basement.)

There are deliberate, writerly moments on this record, because I’m a writer and a neurotic. But nobody is just one thing. I’m also a daughter and a science nerd and a single woman in her thirties and an American freaked out by the stories on the news. And, in this particular moment, I am a person feeling excited, proud, and nervous to be a little more fully herself." - Dessa


1. Ride
2. 5 out of 6 
3. Fire Drills 
4. Velodrome
5. Good Grief 
6. Boy Crazy
7. Jumprope
8. Shrimp
9. Half of You
10. Say When
11. I Hope I'm Wrong 

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items