Chop "Illuminate"

Chop "Illuminate"

CD - $15.99

Inspired by the retro-futurism of the still-sputtering 19th century power station in Northern Wales, across the estuary from ChopŠ—Ès studio, the events of his life, and ChopŠ—Ès collection of hip-hop, disco, new wave and minimal synth records. A record of extreme personal significance to Chop, the creation of its music conversely helped him to silence the chaos of an increasingly neurotic world and soothe the pain of his loss of his father.

Unsurprisingly, Illuminate traverses a number of moods. The jackhammer pounding of Š—…Building BlocksŠ—È segues into the moody but serene Š—…Picture BoxŠ—È. The futuristic soundscape Š—…Arcane FutureŠ—È takes an uplifting melodic turn, revealing ChopŠ—Ès hopes for a more perfect tomorrow. Tape loops and effects, field recordings and drum programming all play a role in Illuminate, and as the majority of the tracks were assembled far away from a detailed Pro-Tools grid, in what Chop calls a Š—“mutant modern way of editing things,Š—? This approach gives the songs a life of their own Š—– equally electronic and human. Though itŠ—Ès the most intellectual approach Chop has taken with his music to date, it retains a spontaneous feel throughout, and despite its technical accomplishments, Illuminate is ChopŠ—Ès most intimate and personal album yet.

Track Listing;

  1. Building Blocks
  2. Illuminate All Voltages
  3. Picture Box
  4. Airhead
  5. Future Past AD
  6. Re-Program The Man / Illuminist Garden
  7. The Electronic Brain
  8. Sleeper
  9. Feedback
  10. You Want More Life
  11. Rendezvous
  12. Feedback Reprise
  13. Bow Down To The Mutant
  14. Arcane Future

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items