D'Angelo And The Vanguard "Black Messiah" 2X Vinyl LP + Download Card

D'Angelo And The Vanguard "Black Messiah" 2X Vinyl LP + Download Card

2X Vinyl LP - $23.99
  • The Long-Awaited Follow-Up to the Critically Acclaimed "Voodoo" Album!

The prodigal son of the soul and funk canon, D'Angelo, is back! His ever-awaited third studio album, Black Messiah, is his first album since the critically acclaimed Voodoo, bringing to an end a 14-year hiatus. The album blends 70's jazz-funk and neo-soul.

Anyone who's been keeping up should be keen to the fact that the long-lusted over project was recorded in full analog, so the liner notes' “For best results, listen at maximum volume" should be taken as a direct order for fervent D'lievers. And what better way to experience the gritty greatness of the release than a heavy-bodied vinyl pressing for the audio junkies?

The album features tracks co-penned by Kendra Foster (Parliament/Funkadelic) and Q-Tip (A Tribe Called Quest). It's also co-produced by Questlove (The Roots), bassist Pino Palladino (John Mayer Trio, The RH Factor), and drummer James Gadson (Bill Withers, Temptations, Beck, Jamie Lidell). With the high quality of live musicianship featured on Black Messiah, it's important to note that no digital plug-ins of any kind were used in this recording. All of the recording, processing, effects and mixing was done in the analog domain using tape and mostly vintage equipment.

"'Black Messiah' is a hell of a name for an album. It can be easily misunderstood. Many will think it's about religion. Some will jump to the conclusion that I'm calling myself a Black Messiah. For me the title is about all of us. It's about the world. It's about an idea we can all aspire to. We should all aspire to be a Black Messiah. It's about people rising up in Ferguson and in Egypt and in Occupy Wall Street and every place where a community has had enough and decides to make change happen. It's not about praising one charismatic leader but celebrating thousands of them. Not every song on this album is politically charged (though many are) but calling this album Black Messiah creates a landscape where these songs can live to the fullest. Black Messiah is not one man. It's a feeling that, collectively, we are all that leader." - D'Angelo, Black Messiah forward

Side A:

1) Ain't That Easy

2) 1000 Deaths

3) The Charade

Side B:

4) Sugah Daddy

5) Really Love

Side C:

6) Back To The Future (Part I)

7) Till It's Done (Tutu)

8) Prayer

Side D:

9) Betray My Heart

10) The Door

11) Back To The Future (Part II)

12) Another Life


Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items