Dead Prez "Lets Get Free" CD

Dead Prez "Lets Get Free" CD

CD - $14.99

Let's Get Free is the debut album by the political hip hop duo dead prez, released on February 8, 2000 on Loud Records.

Critically acclaimed upon its first release, Let's Get Free was called a "return to politically conscious rap" and, "the most politically conscious rap since Public Enemy"; the duo's messages also earned them favorable comparisons with Brand Nubian and X-Clan. The album's lyrics, performed in front of sparse beats that many critics derided as a "dull musical backdrop" are startlingly direct, militant and confrontational. M-1 and excoriate the media, the music industry, politicians and poverty, and rap about Afrocentrism and Black Power. Rolling Stone gave the album four stars and lauded its equation of "classrooms with jail cells, the projects with killing fields and everything from water to television with conduits for brainwashing by the system". The album art is a homage to the Tricontinental Conferencepromotional posters.


 1. Wolves  
 2. African 
 3. They Schools 
 4. Hip Hop 
 5. Police State 
 6. Enemy Lines
 7. Assassination 
 8. Mind Sex 
 9. We Want Freedom 
10. Be Healthy 
11. Discipline 
12. Psychology 
13. Happiness 
14. Animal in Man 
15. You'll Find a Way
16. It's Bigger Than Hip Hop 
17. Propaganda 
18. Pistol

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items