Digable Planets "Reachin" CD

Digable Planets "Reachin" CD

Reachin' (A New Refutation of Time and Space) is the debut album by Digable Planets. The album was produced solely by Digable Planets' Butterfly and features raps by each of the group’s members. There are no guest performers on Reachin', but the production is heavily sample based.

Butterfly samples artists including Kool & the Gang, James Brown and Herbie Hancock to provide the album with funky and jazzy beats. The lyrics tend to cover a wide scope of subject matter including the right to abortion (“La Femme Fetal”), the coolness of Digable Planets (“Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)”) and the similarities between cannabis and funky music (“Nickel Bags”).

Track List:

1) It's Good to Be Here

2) Pacifics (From the Soundtrack to the Motion Picture 'N.Y. Is Red Hot')

3) Where I'm From

4) What Cool Breezes Do

5) Time & Space (A New Refutation of)

6) Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)

7) Last of the Spiddyocks

8) Jimmi Diggin Cats

9) La Femme Fetal

10) Escapism (Gettin' Free) 

11) Appointment at the Fat Clinic

12) Nickel Bags

13) Swoon Units

14) Examination of What

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items