DJ Shadow "Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From the MPC Era 1992-1996"

DJ Shadow "Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From the MPC Era 1992-1996"

CD - $16.99
2X Vinyl LP - $27.99

We here at are very excited to announce a major new archival release exposing Shadow's early production on the Akai MPC. Containing entirely unreleased material spanning from 1992 to 1996, the project is entitled, "Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From The MPC Era, 1992-1996." Included among the highlights are instrumental tracks from an aborted 1994 EP planned with The Gift Of Gab, which includes the original demo of what would eventually become "Six Days."

The new collection of "MPC Era" tracks follows on from the much-loved "4-Track Era" releases from 2008 and 2009, and establishes a pattern which should be familiar to Shadow fans. "I like to follow up new material (such as the recent 'The Less You Know, The Better' LP) with a tastefully-done archival project," Shadow explains. "As long as the old stuff is given a context and doesn't overshadow the new, I think it's a healthy exercise for me, and one that re-calibrates me for whatever new musical path lies ahead. I think it's important to revisit where you've been occasionally so that you can determine where to go."


Track Listing:

1. Intropy (Original Version)

2. Vee In Detroit

3. Dreams Of A Piece

4. The Not-So-Quiet Storm

5. Fast Rap Fanfare

6. Intensely Hitting

7. Mystical With Solo

8. Alright

9. Don't Try It

10. From The Old School

11. Freddi's Popcorn

12. Quickstep

13. Movin' On (Gab Demo 1)

14. Falling Up

15. Mellow But Chunky

16. Total Breakdown (Gab Demo 2)

17. Heavy Mood

18. Affectations

19. Perilous Journey (Gab Demo 3)

20. Aye

21. Brittle But Magic

22. Atmospheric Disturbances

23. Swimming Upstream (Gab Demo 4)

24. Up For Grabs (Outro)

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items