Gang of Four "Entertainment Gang of Four" (Vinyl LP)

Gang of Four "Entertainment Gang of Four" (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP - $17.99

Formed in 1977 by Leeds University students, Gang of Four produced some of the most exhilarating and lasting music of the early English post-punk era of 1978-1983. Fueled by the fury of punk rock and radical political theory, Gang of Four successfully welded the two in an inspired display of polemics and music that addressed the vagaries of life in the modern world (including love and romance) as matters of political inquiry. What made Gang of Four's polemical clang'n'roll so compelling was that it worked as harsh, bracing, and ultimately liberating rock & roll. With Allen and Burnham combining as a formidable and frequently very funky rhythm section, Gill didn't play guitar as much as emit thick wads of semi-tuneful distortion, while King "sang" in a dry, declamatory fashion similar to that of the Fall's Mark E. Smith. They have always remained, to the ears of those opened wide by punk rock, an extremely important band. 1979 release.


  1. Ether
  2. Natural's Not in It
  3. Not Great Men
  4. Damaged Goods
  5. Return the Gift
  6. Guns Before Butter
  7. I Found That Essence Rare
  8. Glass
  9. Contract
  10. At Home He's a Tourist
  11. 5-45
  12. Anthrax
  13. Outside the Trains Don't Run on Time
  14. He'd Send in the Army
  15. It's Her Factory
  16. Armalite Rifle
  17. Guns Before Butter [Alternate Version]
  18. Contract [Alternate Version]
  19. Blood Free [Live]
  20. Sweet Jane [Live]

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items