Johnny Clarke "Rockers Time Now" Vinyl LP

Johnny Clarke "Rockers Time Now" Vinyl LP

Vinyl LP - $20.99

Get On Down presents an often overlooked crucial reggae release from the 1970s with Johnny Clarke’s “Rockers Time Now.” The record is a mix of covers and originals, including ethereal versions of the The Abyssinians “Satta Massagana” and “Declaration of Rights,” smash hits on the island just the year before. “Rockers Time Now” was first issued in 1976, Clarke had just been named artist of the year in Jamaica for the second year in a row. This is just one of three full lengths he released that year as this was a very prolific period for Clarke, in particular from 1974 onward when his output was directed by legendary producer Bunny Lee. The pairing resulted in a creative energy that resonates to this day.

The release was recorded at Channel 1 with Bunny Lee producing, which of course means the band backing the popular Jamaican vocalist was The Aggrovators, which at the time included Robbie Shakespeare, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Augustus Pablo, and Aston “Family Man” Barrett. The release was mixed at King Tubby’s by Osbourne Ruddock...aka King Tubby. Crucial all the way around. Now is the time to rediscover a classic of the genre, “Rockers Time Now”.


1) Rockers Time Now
2) Ites Green And Gold
3) African Roots
4) Be Holy, My Brothers And Sisters
5) Satta Massagana
6) Stop The Tribal War
7) Declaration Of Rights
8) Let’s Give Jah, Jah Praise
9) I Wish It Could Go On Forever
10) Natty Dreadlocks Stand Up Right
11) Prophecy A-Fulfilled
12) Them Never Love Poor Marcus

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items