Outkast "ATLiens"

Outkast "ATLiens"

CD - $11.99
Sold Out
2X Vinyl LP - $29.99

ATLiens was a surprise. Released in 1996, as Atlanta groups like TLC were blowing up and finally putting the city on the map, its title accurately described the public image of OutKast that the release of this album generated. On Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik, their 1994 debut, 'Kast came off as an unusually talented duo of straight thug MCs staying faithful to the ATL sound. There were signs that Big Boi and Dre intended to push the envelope, but they were subtle enough to be accepted as mere creative touches to an excellent mainstream G-Funk record.

But OutKast's sophomore effort was a different beast. From its comic book cover to its spacey, atmospheric production, and especially considering its somewhat less gangsta subject matter, ATLiens might as well have come from outer space as far as much of OutKast's audience was concerned. More traditional listeners were turned off, some completely, by 'Kast's transformation. But the eclectic, deep, and soulful production and the undeniably tight tag-team rhymes were more than simply extraterrestrial. They seemed divinely inspired by the bodacious black goddess printed on the CD. ATLiens shook up OutKast's fan base, but those that remained when the shockwave was over realized they had a work of genius on their hands.

Track Listing:

1. You May Die (Intro)

2. Two Dope Boyz (In a Cadillac)

3. ATLiens

4. Wheelz of Steel

5. Jazzy Belle

6. Elevators (Me & You)

7. Ova Da Wudz

8. Babylon

9. Wailin'

10. Mainstream

11. Decatur Psalm

12. Millenium

13. ET (Extraterrestrial)

14. 13th Floor/Growing Old

15. Elevators (DNP 86 Mix)

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items