Public Enemy "Apocalypse 91...The Enemy Strikes Black" CD

Public Enemy "Apocalypse 91...The Enemy Strikes Black" CD

Coming down after the twin high-water marks of It Takes a Nation of Millions and Fear of a Black Planet, Public Enemy shifted strategy a bit for their fourth album, Apocalypse 91...The Enemy Strikes Black. By and large, they abandon the rich, dense musicality of Planet, shifting toward a sleek, relentless, aggressive attack -- Yo! Bum Rush the Show by way of the lessons learned from Millions. This is surely a partial reaction to their status as the Great Black Hope of rock & roll; they had been embraced by a white audience almost in greater numbers than black, leading toward rap-rock crossovers epitomized by this album's leaden, pointless remake of "Bring the Noise" as a duet with thrash metallurgists Anthrax. It also signals the biggest change here -- the transition of the Bomb Squad to executive-producer status, leaving a great majority of the production to their disciples, the Imperial Grand Ministers of Funk. This isn't a great change, since the Public Enemy sound has firmly been established, giving the new producers a template to work with, but it is a notable change, one that results in a record with a similar sound but a different feel.

Track Listing:

1. Lost At Birth

2. Rebirth

3. Nighttrain

4. Can't Truss It

5. I Don't Wanna Be Called Yo Niga

6. How To Kill A Radio Consultant

7. By The Time I Get To Arizona

8. Move!

9. 1 Million Bottlebags

10. More News At 11

11. Shut Em Down

12. A Letter To The New York Post

13. Get The F--- Outta Dodge

14. Bring Tha Noize (w/Anthrax)

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items