Scott Down & DjJCutler "Blue Collar Funk" CD

Scott Down & DjJCutler "Blue Collar Funk" CD

CD - $13.99

The Cold Queen City which chills on the easternmost banks of the ever tumultuous Lake Erie has spawned more funk than blizzards, yet until now it has been infamous only for the latter. What you hold in your mitts right now, an unprecedented mix of twenty rare Buffalo funk gems spanning twenty years, intends to change this. Most of the funk contained within was only distributed locally and regionally by small independent labels scattered throughout the city on Hertel, Delaware, Main St., High St., 'East Side', etc. In runs of as little as a few hundred, one song came from a west coast label which signed a Buffalo artist after he was stranded on tour; one record was an independently distributed private pressing from a Buffalo funk legend early in his career. Some songs are straight B-Lo funk, some high-flying jazz fusion, some psychedelic horn rock, some smooth soul serenades, and a few are groundbreaking hip hop sleepers which influenced the much better known artists of the Golden Era. The entire mix, however, is cohesively bound by a unique Buffalonian style and identity which can be described no better than as 'Blue Collar Funk'. Close your eyes, listen closely and you can feel the soot of Bethlehem steel permeate the cold East Side air as you wait in line at the Rockpile to see O.J. in all his sunday splendor... First things first, however. Cop the CD. As Jimmy Griffin might suggest, take it home and enjoy a six pack of Genny , ER, Flying Bison, as you listen. Better yet, make it a couple of Growlers. There is much more where this funk came from and our friends Scott and Mike jhave assured me that volume two is well on the way.  
Track Listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Blue Collar Funk
  3. Runaway People (Extended Version)
  4. Get Out Of My Life Woman
  5. Soldier
  6. Funky Stuff
  7. Hollywood Swingin'
  8. Pick Up The Pieces
  9. Get Up And Dance
  10. Pimp
  11. Uh-Ah
  12. Free Again
  13. Come Unto Me
  14. Can't Stop Lovin' You
  15. Scott Down Remix
  16. Interlude
  17. More Ounce Rap
  18. Cuts Like These
  19. We Are Cold City
  20. I'm Coming
  21. Outro

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items