Sir Mix-A-Lot "Swass" CD

Sir Mix-A-Lot "Swass" CD

CD - $12.99


The first major MC to come out of the Pacific Northwest (straight outta Tacoma, Washington, to be precise), Sir Mix-a-Lot appeared on the national scene with 1987's SWASS, boasting his own language and a spare, spacey sound, one which owed a heavy debt to the electro-beat-box style of Afrika Bambaataa, but hinted at the P-Funk leanings of later West Coast rap. "Posse on Broadway" (that's Seattle's Broadway, not New York's) lays out Mix-a-Lot's style, as he poetically unfolds a narrative in his gruff, inimitable voice. He ably channels Run-D.M.C., pairing with fellow locals Metal Church on his re-imagination of "Iron Man." While he hints at the novelty that invaded his later work on sped-up opening track "Buttermilk Biscuits," most of the record is a darker affair, a reminder that, at heart, Sir Mix-a-Lot was a serious, innovative (if often goofy) rapper. 1988 Reissue. Replaces #65663 Cbs Includes liner notes by Sir Mix-A-Lot. Personnel includes: Sir Mix-A-Lot; Kid Sensation (vocals); Metal Church, Kid Sensation.
Track Listing:
  1. Buttermilk Biscuits (Keep on Square Dancin')
  2. Posse On Broadway
  3. Gold
  4. Swass
  5. Rippin'
  6. Attack On The Stars
  7. Mall Dropper
  8. Hip Hop Soldier
  9. Iron Man
  10. Bremelo
  11. Square Dance Rap
  12. Romantic Interlude
  13. F The BS

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items