Soundsci "My Boosey Weighs A Ton" Vinyl LP

Soundsci "My Boosey Weighs A Ton" Vinyl LP

Vinyl LP - $19.99
  • Produced with the Cavendish Music library, and is entirely made from samples from their archive - famous among crate diggers as the Boosey & Hawkes Recorded Music Library / SBH Series
  • ´ŽèSoundsci are producers Ollie Teeba from The Herbaliser and Jonny Cuba from Dynamic Syncopation
  • Features MCs/DJs: UGeorge, Audessey, Oxygen, Supastition, Emskee, Eddie Meeks

Library music is the crate diggerŠ—Ès manna; music that has never been commercially released, hence much harder to come across, providing obscure sample material for generations of producers. Any respectable digger will recognise the Boosey & Hawkes Recorded Music Library sleeves immediately. However, the Cavendish Music archive, of which they are part of, remains one of the least chartered non-commercial music catalogues among producers.

This is no longer the case, thanks to veteran beatsmiths Jonny Cuba (Dynamic Syncopation) and Ollie Teeba (The Herbaliser), and their army of emcees: Audessey, Oxygen, UGeorge, Supastition, Emskee & Eddie Meeks. We bring you My Boosey Weighs A Tonne, an album sampled wholly from the Cavendish archive. This makes a perfect follow up to 2011Š—Ès Soundsational LP on Ubiquity, for which Soundsci gained the blessing of Mike James Kirkland to sample his rich back catalogue.

Cavendish and Soundsci are two forces leading the way in building relationships between the sampler and the sampled. In 2014 Cavendish Music welcomed a select group of five producers into their vinyl archive. SoundSciŠ—Ès Jonny Cuba was one of the lucky few, and Soundsci were one of 25 artists who sampled and remixed the material for WhoSampledŠ—Ès first Š—…SamplethonŠ—È. Hunger Pains, which features on this release, was a standout track on the resulting 10Š—?, which sold out in a week.

The soundtrack origin of the source material lends the tracks a cinematic nature throughout which the emcees complement perfectly, tackling similarly epic subject matter on tracks like Š—…Drugs, Guns & EconomicsŠ—È, Š—…Written In StoneŠ—È and Š—…Ole Saying GoesŠ—È, while the narrative- style vocal on Š—…Thaddeus BrowneŠ—È is a smart counterpart to the noir-soaked instrumental. 2NX is the label for projects of interest from the Cavendish Music library catalogue. Previous projects include WhoSampled Present: Digging In The Vaults.

Track List:ξ

1) My Boosey Weighs A Tonne
2) Hunger Pains
3) Ole Saying Goes
4) Tug Of War
5) Drugs, Guns & Economics
6) Thaddeus Browne
7) Written In Stone
8) Intelligence
9) Relationship
10) Chimichunga
11) Dust & Decay

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items