The New Birth "The New Birth" CD

The New Birth "The New Birth" CD

CD - $11.99

Reel Music (P & C Records) digs deep into the R&B/Funk crates to bring forth - for the first time on CD - the very first 1970 RCA album by Louisville, Kentucky's The New Birth. From the nude family portrait on the cover to the raw, broad stroke 10 songs inside, this is the rarest, most coveted album by The New it boldly began.

Comprising a 4-man vocal group, a 4-woman vocal group PLUS the powerhouse 9-member band The Nite-Liters, The New Birth was an all-purpose entertainment concept helmed by former Motown producers Harvey Fuqua and Vernon Bullock.

Though just one album away from slimming down to the 12-member hit machine most funkateers remember, this original 17-piece assemblage packed a show-stopping soul wallop that could swing from heavy backbeat flips of pop standards like "It's You or No One" (the group's very first single) to a red hot rave-up of Rufus Thomas' "Do the Funky Chicken." Feast your ears on The New Birth's original true school R&B vocal masters Tanita Gaines, Bobby Downs and Allen Frey - featured on grooves that include "You Don't Have To Be Alone," "One Way Bus" and "Brand New Lover."


Track Listing:

1. What'll I Do

2. UNH Song

3. All The Way

4. It's All In The Game

5. Pretty Words Don't Mean A Thing (Lie To Me)

6. Do The Funky Chicken

7. Brand New Lover

8. You Don't Have To Be Alone

9. One Way Bus

10. It's You Or No One

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items