V/A "Original Soul III" Vinyl LP

V/A "Original Soul III" Vinyl LP

Vinyl LP - $23.99

It's been nearly fifteen years since the vinyl-only releases by the various ensembles helmed by Jay and Max Whitefield also known as the Whitefield Brothers and the nucleus of the revered Poets of Rhythm were collated onto an Original Raw Soul album. The last 1997's More Original Raw Soul largely contained the duo's heavy funk and soul... well before the aughts' Deep Funk revival that one could argue began with these two German siblings earliest recordings. Fitting, then, that this "Original Raw Soul III" looks back at recordings dating back over twenty years but never once sounds dated or dull. There's the garage funk of the early Poets incarnation the Bus People Express; the deep jazz of vocalist Bajka gigging with a Max Whitefield ensemble; the pan-African psych-jazz of the Whitefield Brothers. And that's just three of the ensembles contained within. Original Raw Soul III contains sixteen tracks that span the gamut of forty years of musical innovation, recorded over the past twenty years, and presented anew today. Contains two previously unreleased songs by The Transgressors.


Track Listing:

  1. New Process - Bus People Theme
  2. Poets Of Rhythm - Summerdays
  3. Transgressors - Will Power
  4. Bajka - A Vision 1/3
  5. Karl Hector & The Malcouns - J.B. R.I.P.
  6. New Process - Freedom
  7. Mercy Sluts - $600 Song
  8. Karl Hector & The Funk Pilots - Funky Sex Machine
  9. Bajka - The Only Religion That I Believe
  10. Whitefield Brothers - The Bastard
  11. Polyversal Souls - Muswell Hill Run
  12. Transgressors - Money For Born, Money For Die
  13. Karl Hector & The Funk Pilots - Free I Wanna Be
  14. Whitefield Brothers - Savannahstan
  15. Neo Hip Hot Kiddies Community - Hip Walk
  16. Poets Of Rhythm - Flight To St Vincent
  17. Mercy Sluts - Banana Republic

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items