V/A "The Cool Aid Benefit Album" 2X Vinyl LP

V/A "The Cool Aid Benefit Album" 2X Vinyl LP

2X Vinyl LP - $15.39

At the end of the 1960Š—Ès, there was a house in Vancouver that was a home solely for Hippies and homeless youth; it was known to locals as "the Cool Aid House." When the Canadian government withdrew funding in 1970, the house was in danger of closing. All of the top bands in the Vancouver area offered to record songs for a benefit albumŠ—”and since the local music scene produced some of the best bands in Canada, the album that resulted was stunning; it has long been a much sought-after collector's item. What no one knew until recently was that the original "Cool Aid Benefit Album" was intended as a two-record set: contractual problems with Capitol Records forced Cool Aid House founder John Walsch to drop tracks by Mother Tucker's Yellow DuckŠ—”tracks that are now restored to this package. Other cuts include the strange proto-electronic burbles of Mock Duck (quite unlike almost everything else they ever recorded) on Š—…As the Bullet Enters AntonŠ—È and Š—…Pointillistic ScherzoŠ—È; the vicious snarl of Black SnakeŠ—Ès Š—…Carousel,Š—È and the strange Spalding Grey-ish acoustic song/poem Š—…The Planet Man.Š—È Hydro Electric Street Car have left little behind them, but their lovely Š—…High MemoryŠ—È sounds like a lost Grateful Dead track from their early, dreamy period. A terrific discovery. The end result of the joint efforts of Light in the Attic and Lion Productions is this deluxe 2xLP package, jam-packed with stand-out music by VancouverŠ—Ès top bands of the day: Mother Tucker's Yellow Duck, Papa Bear's Medicine Show, Mock Duck, Hydro Electric Streetcar, Route Nine, Blacksnake Blues Band, Nancy, Spring, and Greydon Moore and Leo Jung. Obscure cuts available nowhere else, in a wide variety of styles: weird electronic sounds, heavy garage fuzz guitar freakouts, stoner rock, and acoustic folk. This deluxe hand-numbered LP edition comes in a heavy 1960Š—Ès style "tip-on" gatefold jacket with notes on the Cool Aid House, the original LP project, and the bands involved. All tracks are taken from the original multi-track studio tapes, and sound incredible as a result. Limited edition hand-numbered 2xLP package (housed in old-style tip on gatefold jacket), lovingly remastered from the original multi-track studio tapes. Includes liner notes and original artwork from the Cool Aid House.


Track Listing:

Album One (Original LP):

A1. Bring Yourself Down To Earth LovinŠ—È Blues Baby - Spring

A2. Girl Of the Night Suite - Route Nine

A3. Catfish - Blacksnake

A4. The Reason - Black Snake

B1. Pointilistic Scherzo - Mock Duck

B2. Do Re Me - Mock Duck

B3. As the Bullet Enters Anton - Mock Duck

B4. Golden Girl- Papa Bear's Medicine Show

B5. I Realise - Hydro Electric Streetcar

B6. Gardens and Flowers - Hydro Electric Streetcarξ


Album Two (Unreleased Tracks):

A1. Borrowed Song - Mock Duck

A2. Mountain Joy - Mother Tucker's Yellow Duck

A3. Hydro Electric - High memory

A4. I - Mother Tuckers Yellow Duck

A5. Wordplay Š—– Spring

B1. No Time/Got A Feeling Š—– Nancy

B2. Carousel Š—– Blacksnake

B3. Hastings East - Mock Duck

B4. The Planet Man - Greydon Moore And Leo Jungξ

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items