Verbal Kent "Sound of the Weapon" CD

Verbal Kent "Sound of the Weapon" CD

CD - $13.99
A decade ago, while walking down an empty alley near Clark and Pratt in Chicago, Verbal Kent had his throat slashed with a knife by an acquaintance. Kent managed to make it to Saint Francis Hospital as blood poured from his neck. He received nearly 100 stitches, the blade of the knife missing the jugular by a mere centimeter, and took months to recuperate. The impact of course was unimaginable; an incident like this shades everything going forward for some time. It’s been 10 years since that incident changed Verbal Kent’s life, and now The Windy City is back in the news with unprecedented violence these past few years. Far from a nihilist, Verbal finds meaning in the everyday struggles he and his city live through - adding to it hard-line braggadocio, comedic flare, and social awareness.This is The Sound of the Weapon an unabashed look at living through anything and loving everything. The cause of it is truth. Sound of the Weapon is Verbal Kent’s most complete album to date.

Verbal has always been one to lock in amazing production. His last album – with Ugly Heroes – was produced entirely by Detroit’s Apollo Brown. This time around everything is produced by Khrysis (Jean Grae, Evidence, Talib Kweli, Elzhi).

Track Listing:
1. Truth
2. Body the Beat featuring DJ Eclipse
3. Hunched over Chess Boards featuring DJ Eclipse
4. Now or Never pt 1
5. Underrated?
6. Raponomics
7. Sound of the Weapon
8. No Excuse
9. Now or Never pt 2
10. Sammy Sosa
11. Slap the Shit Out of You App
12. Joe Shmoses
13. Now or Never PT. 3

Type: Music

Pin It

Related Items